Ad Info
Address Change
About Us
Contact Us
Past Issues
Atlantic Racing Scene

Around the Atlantic

Tenth Annual Automotive Industry Awards in Halifax, NS

The 10th Annual Automotive Industry Awards Evening took place Thursday, February 18th, once again set in the beautiful Compass Room of Casino Nova Scotia, in Halifax. The turnout was fantastic with over 100 Industry representatives and stakeholders in attendance.


NSCC -1st Row- Bradley Thomas , Rick Long, Greg Day, Hal Smith -Standing- Brenda Silver, Mark MacEac hern, Dave Giles, Robert Sampson, Kevin Gerrior, and Roy MacNeil

Ms Shannon Smith, Automotive Sector Council executive director, was the master of ceremonies of the event, and for the second year in a row, Honouring the Employee was the celebrated

The evening featured Bob Greenwood as key note speaker. Greenwood is well known within the industry nationally and is president / founder of Automotive Aftermarket E-Learning Centre Ltd . Greenwood spoke on the challenges facing our industry today and gave an inspirational presentation on how our industry and business owners can make appropriate changes to face these challenges. He mirrored the event theme by focusing on the importance of working with employees to create a team and on a larger scale to work together as an industry. Greenwood applauded the Atlantic Region for Honouring the Employee and maintained that “it’s important that you make this a big deal!”

Following Greenwood’s presentation, recent graduates of his automotive professional development course, were recognized, including:

Employee Business
Adrien Bolton and Al Cunningham Canadian Tire Clayton Park
Danny Thibodeau and Joann Whitehead Hammonds Plains Service Centre
Natasha Hunt, Doreen Hudder, Roy McNeill Don McNeill’s Shell
Darlene Assoun Paul Browns Auto Service
Francis Jessop and Gary Burke Gary Burkes Auto Sales
Wilma Hazelwood and Lorne Hazelwood Hazelwood Automotive
Kevin Stuart CARQUEST
CJ Hubley NSCC Youth Apprentice


The next part of the program was to ‘Honour the Employee’ and there were 14 honourees were recognized.

Each was called to the podium to receive their Employee Appreciation Award which recognized their outstanding contribution to their business, their commitment to customer service and exemplary leadership qualities displayed within their workplace. Awards were given to mployees from eight Industry employers:

Employee Business
Derrick Carroll, Scott Giffin Coast Tire & Auto Service
Dave Whitehead Hammonds Plains Service Centre
Natalie Horne Canadian Tire Clayton Park
Ed Thibideau Hazelwood Automotive
Darlene Assoun Paul Browns AutoService Centre
Trevor Robinson AutoChoice Parts & Paints
Robert Bancroft Bancroft Shell
Wally MacLeod, Terry Roma, Bruce Howlett, Mark Cheverie, Tony Khoury, and Mike Sperry MacPhee Pontiac


A highlight of the evening was the presentation made by Richard Pelley, the automotive safety training officer for Automotive Trades Association, who spoke to the delegates about important
issues on occupational health and safety, stating that “Safety doesn’t cost, it pays!” Pelley presented the Medavie Blue Cross Safety Kits to prize recipients Mike Sperry from MacPhee Pontiac
and Rick Long from NSCC.

Also presented were the scholarship award winners: Wayne Hartt, recipient of the CRANS scholarship in the amount of $500, and Evan Brown, recipient of the ATA scholarship in the amount
of $2000. Lindsay Gates, executive director of Collision Repair Association of NS also recognized Stephen Innes as the 2009 NS Skills Competition winner.

Executive Director Shannon Smith expressed her appreciation to those in attendance, to the event sponsors listed below and to Jacob Mailman who photographed the event.


MacPhee Pontiac -1st row seated left to right- Al MacPhee, Dan MacLaughlin, Mike Sperry (Honoree), Wally MacLeod (Honoree), Suzanne Cheverie -2nd Row Standing left to right- Ron Ozon, Debbie Howlett, Bruce Howlett (Honoree), Corrie Anderson, Mark Cheverie (Honoree), Tony Khoury (Honoree), Denise Khoury, Steve Amand
Event sponsors were:

Auto Choice Parts & Paint
A.P. Reid Insurance
Automotive Trades Association of NS
Canavans Central Appraisals
Collision Repair Association of NS
Canadian Automotive Repair and Service
Coast Tire Auto Service
Greater Halifax Partnership
Labour & Workforce Development
Medavie Blue Cross
Nova Scotia Community College
Steele Auto Group
St. John Ambulance

To finish off the evening hundred dollar door prizes were drawn and the lucky winners were Eric Bourque from A.P. Reid, Mike Facey from Canadian Tire Clayton Park, and Joann Whitehead from Hammonds Plains Service Centre.

On behalf of the Automotive Sector Council of NS, industry partners and stakeholders, Ms Shannon Smith reiterated that it was a truly enjoyable and entertaining evening that highlighted the industry’s capacity to come together and celebrate important milestones.

Delegates were reminded that the next formal gathering of the industry will be the ATA conference May 14th & 15th at Oak Island Inn and Resort. Mark your calendars!

Much, much more in the print addition of Auto Atlantic.
Get your free subscription here