Ad Info
Address Change
About Us
Contact Us
Past Issues

Scott Fraser to be Inducted in CDN Motorsport Hall Of Fame

Scott Fraser has been announced as one of seven inductees in the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame class of 2007. Fraser will join the elite fraternity posthumously in the first year eligible since his death in 2004, at just 33 years of age. In his 16-year racing career Fraser accomplished much more than many do in an entire lifetime, winning championships and races from Nova Scotia to Florida. Fraser was a fan favourite wherever he raced and always recognized as a force to be reckoned with on the track, no matter what league he was competing in.

Scott Fraser
Scott Fraser

Fraser's regional popularity carried to a national fever pitch in 2000 and 2001 when he competed on the ASA circuit in the US, carrying the hopes of Canadian race fans and his dream to succeed in racing's "big leagues." In 19 starts he scored eight top 10's and qualified second twice. That popularity was exemplified in the summer of 2001 when his fans raised over $39,000 in less than a month to sponsor the "Fans of Fraser" ASA racecar.

Fraser still holds the record for the most Riverside 250 wins - with five consecutive trips to Victory Lane at Riverside International Speedway between 1993 and 1997. In 1996 he won 12 of 15 MASCAR races, leading 59% of the total laps for the entire season, en route to the series championship. In 1999 he was named the Nova Scotia Male Athlete of the Year after repeated successes on both sides of the border.

Scott Fraser

His richest win came in 2003 at the annual New Brunswick International Speedway 250-lap event, in which he collected a cheque for $24,500 - an event record that remains untouched. His last win came September 23, 2003 at his home track (Scotia Speedworld, Halifax) where he drove a race that some called an exhibition of pure racing talent.

Scott Fraser died March 20, 2004 in a snowmobile accident. Other 2007 inductees include:

  • Jack Christie, Builder - Road Racing/Ovals
  • Geoff Goodwin, Competitor/Builder - Drag Racing
  • Ted Gryguc, Competitor - Boat Racing
  • Alan Labrosse, Competitor/Builder - Motorcycle Racing
  • Billy Matthews, Competitor - Motorcycle Racing
  • Tony Novotny, Builder - Stock Car Racing

The induction ceremony is set for February 23, 2008 in Toronto at the Canadian International Auto Show where Fraser will join fellow Nova Scotians Rollie MacDonald, Jim Hallahan and Junior Hanley as Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame members.

This year's inductees come from a variety of racing disciplines and are being recognized for their outstanding accomplishments and contributions to Canadian racing.

Inductees survive scrutiny by the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame's Nomination Committee which carefully analyses all submissions for accuracy and completeness. A broad range of up to 20 candidate nominations are then forwarded to the Selection Committee, comprised of a national panel of automotive and racing journalists and historians, who make their selection based on overall accomplishments and contributions to Canadian motorsport.

The Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame was established in 1993 to honour and recognize the achievements of Canadians who have made significant contributions to Canada's rich and colourful motorsport history. Since its inception, more than 125 people have been inducted into the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame including Greg Moore, Scott Goodyear, Earl Ross, Ross Petersen, Guy Lombardo, Frank Hawley and the legendary Gilles Villeneuve.

More in the print addition of Auto Atlantic. Get your free subscription here.